• Categories

  • Archives

  • Advertisements

2010 Children and Youth Awards Announced

Monday, January 18th 2010, during its Midwinter Meeting in Boston, the American Library Association announced the winners of this year’s awards for best books, audiobooks, and videos for children and young adults. The University of South Florida School of Library and Information Science (USF SLIS)’s contribution to this important celebration of children’s literature is reflected in the participation of some faculty members and alumni in the selection process. Some of the 2010 award winners are:

John Newbery Medal:

For the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

“When You Reach Me,” written by Rebecca Stead.

Randolph Caldecott Medal:

For most distinguished American Picture Book for children. USF SLIS Professor Emerita Henrietta Smith is part of the selection committee for this important award. This year’s winner is:

The Lion & the Mouse,” illustrated and written by Jerry Pinkney.

Coretta Scott King Award:

The Coretta Scott King Award recognizes an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children. USF SLIS Professor Dr. Cora Dunkley is part of the selection committee for this award. The 2010 winners are:

Author: “Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal,” written by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson.

Illustrator: “My People,” illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr. (written by Langston Hughes.)

Pura Belpré Award:

The Pura Belpré Award honors a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience. USF SLIS Distinguished Alumna and author Lucía González was this year’s Chair of the Pura Belpré selection committee, co-sponsored by ALSC and and the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking (REFORMA.) The winners are:

Author: Return to Sender,” written by Julia Alvarez.

Illustrator: “Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day; Celebremos El día de los niños/El día de los libros,” illustrated by Rafael López (written by Pat Mora.)

For a complete list of these and other awards, such as the 2010 Michael Printz Award for young adults literature, William C. Morris Award, Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, and several others, as well as the list of books that received Honor Medals, please read the ALA Press Release. More information about the youth awards, criteria, past winners, and selection process can be found here. Help spread the word by showcasing these honored books in your libraries, including them in booktalks, or even in your school projects and research.

When You Reach MeThe Lion and the Mouse



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s